Doesn’t mean I’m lonely when I’m alone.

A mere conversation on twitter made me realised something. Ok, it wasn’t entirely a realisation. I’ve known about this for a really long time, I just didn’t blog about it. It’s just something that made me realise how self-conscious people are.

I was just randomly scrolling through my timeline for something interesting, and I saw my friend tweeted about how bored she was at home and wanted to look for someone to hit the streets with her. Of course, I suggested going out alone. And of course, the reply I got was, “so boring.” Well, why is that unexpected? Oh wait, it isn’t exactly unexpected. Then I thought about it. Why is it that people find that going out alone is boring?

I, myself had my fair share of being out and alone throughout the month. And I have to say, it really isn’t that bad. In fact, because of an about one hour of alone time the other day at the mall because I was waiting for my parents, I found something that was perfect for birthday presents. After that I think I’ve become much, much more comfortable walking in the mall or on the streets alone. I don’t even know why, actually. I don’t know if it was just me, not caring about how people saw me, or it was just nobody cared about why I looked so alone. Either way, I don’t really care.

But, after what I read this morning, I really feel like blogging about this.

If you’re walking on the streets alone, stop being so conscious about how people look at you. If you aren’t so conscious and picking up those wandering eyes of passerbys, you won’t even realise that they’re looking at you.

Really though, what’s wrong with being on the streets alone. It’s actually a really nice thing to do. Since, you’d have all the time in the world wandering around, scanning around the place to see what interests you. Or if you don’t have a lot of spare time, at lease you don’t have to worry about whatever your companion wants to do would tie you down and not being able to make it to some place else. Being alone and on the streets can also really calm yourself down and be able to clear your mind.

Remember the phrase: “Who cares?”

Using it in this context, “Who cares if you’re alone?”

The only person is you.

Just take time off studying or working, just walk on the streets or the malls for an hour or two, focus on what’s in front of you and not the wandering eyes, and see if you’ve enjoyed your time alone.

If you don’t, then I think I’m just weird.

Leave a Reply

