TOTW: Gardens by the Bay.

TOTW is a revised segment where I share about small little parts of my life and my dear thoughts that comes with these little things. This is simply to share a piece of my mind to the Internet, to see if anyone out there has the same thinking as I do, so please also understand that these are just thoughts and small segments of a life of a teenager. Thank you for understanding & reading. ๐Ÿ™‚

this post is written in the frame of thoughts from 22 Dec 2013.

Hello there!

Yes, I know, it hasn’t been a week since my last post. Actually, it hasn’t even been three days. But, I thought since it’s Christmas week, I thought, “fuck it, I’ll write more this week.” So, just for this week, because it’s Christmas week, I’ll be posting three TOTW posts! I do not, however know what are the days that I’ll actually blog on. But rest assured, I will post three posts this week. Hehehe.

Oh, and please be warned that this post will have an excessive number of photographed flowers. ๐Ÿ˜›

Hmm… where shall I start from…?

Well, basically, I went to Gardens by the Bay with Fiona today, whoot! Hahaha, okay, my mind is a little cookoo right now because of the long day of walking, and I really hope you’re able to follow my entire post, because right now, as I type, I feel like I’m druuuunk.ย I woke up with a cut on my left index finger, making it a little hard to type. Hence most of the time that I’m typing this, I’m backspacing because all I type doesn’t seem to be right.

The day started out slow, just like every other Sundays. Today, however, is a Chinese day called ๅ†ฌ่‡ณ. I really don’t know what it is when it’s translated to English, so I suppose I’ll just stop at this. I think it’s just a day where families come back together, have a meal as well as have this special ‘dish’, which I also do not know what it’s name is in English. But if you don’t get it, ah, it’s fine. I mean, it doesn’t really matter anyway.

The day started out slow, but slowly, it got better from the moment we left on train to Gardens. Partially because from the moment we got out of the station, Fiona and I just started walking around the gardens like tourists, crazily taking photos of all sorts of flowers. And also calling each other to come over and look at the flowers.ย Ok, I’m really sleepy right now, so if what I’m typing doesn’t make sense… yup, you know why.

Until that moment we stepped into the gardens, I’ve never felt so tourist-y in my own country before. Never. Not until today, not until that very moment. I think it was the fact that I brought my camera out. But then again, maybe it was because of the amazing weather that the sky has decided to let us enjoy today. Hahaha. Now here’s why. For the past few days, it has been either fucking sunny, or there’s some freaking huge storm out there.ย I’m really just exaggerating.ย But today, no, today’s completely different. Yes, the sun was out today, but it was really, really windy today. Yes, the weather itself totally made my day.

Alright, I shall not bore everyone of you from my broken English writing and my poor choice of words.ย If you’ve read my blogs enough, you’ll know that this is actually just the beginning. ๐Ÿ˜›

Just to cut the story short, Fiona and I visited both the conservatories today, but not before taking many photos of pretty flowers at the gardens that surrounded the conservatories. The two conservatories are mainly the Flower Dome and the Cloud Forest. Just a word of “advice”, if you ever plan on going to the Gardens, promise me that you’d go to both the domes together. Because frankly, it’s much more worth it when you go to both together.

The Flower Dome…. shouldn’t really be called Flower dome. It should be called Flower and Cactus dome or something. I swear to god, as much as there were so many kind of cactus, there were almost all repeated all over the entire section. I have to say, there’s this really strange cactus. Or at lease, what I think is a cactus.ย However though, as much as there were a wide variety of cactus, there were also so many pretty flowers. Like, I swear to god, I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many beautiful flowers all gathered in one place. I’ll post a few photographs here, just to give you a sneak peak to what you’re missing out on if you’ve never visited the domes before. ๐Ÿ˜› But, due to the overwhelming number of photos, I’ll just be posting those that I think are really worth posting. Yup.

Oh, by the way, there were like speakers around the plants that were playing some really natural sounds, I think. Fiona says that apparently it makes the plants grow better, but frankly, now that I think about it, those recordings aren’t even really the sounds of nature. o.o Either way, if they’re playing it, and the plants and flowers are growing beautifully, then I suppose it does actually work then.

This set includes some photos that are actually from the outdoor gardens.ย 

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

Haha, halfway into the Flower Dome, where there were a lot flowers and also plantations that you see from the photos above. Fiona said that she felt like she was in a farm because there were huge lettuce, red pepper, chili and tomatoes. Hahaha, frankly speaking, yes, it did make me feel slightly like that.

After finally dragging our tired as heck bodies out of the Flower Dome, after taking millions of the same photographs because there were so many repeated flowers, we headed off to the Cloud Forest. I swear to god, it’s probably the most beautiful place I’ve ever seen in the country. Probably.

However though, as much as it is beautiful and extremely cooling, there isn’t actually much to look at in the Cloud Forest. I mean, there are quite a number of Orchids to look at, but they are all really far away from the paths that you have to walk on, and hence, it’s actually really difficult to take nice photographs of those plants too. The only thing that is constantly perking my interest is the huge synthetic waterfall that is right at the entrance of the Cloud Forest. I swear to god, it’s probably the nicest thing ever.

Of course, there were other things to look at as well, but there weren’t many. Personally, the only attraction of the Cloud Forest is the huge waterfall and the suspended paths for people to walk. These two are probably the only thing that makes Cloud Forest beautiful. Oh yes, now I remember. There was this ‘documentary’ part of this conservatory near the exit, ‘reminding’ everyone to stop hurting our lovely planet Earth more than we already are. And I swear to god, it actually made me feel really, really sad. Like, if I stood there any longer, and if the documentary got any sadder, I probably would’ve cried then and there. I don’t even know what’s wrong with me.

So, after leaving the Cloud Forest with our aching legs, Fiona and I went outside and were hit by huge gushes of sea breeze. For the record, no, we weren’t by the beach. However, I call it sea breeze because the water that we were looking at and smelling is actually seawater. So, technically… It was sea breeze.

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

Hmm… I don’t know, it seems to me like going to Gardens has made me realized how in love I am with nature, as much as I don’t really care much to study them. I mean, honestly, I would probably just die of boredom if I actually picked up a book that listed all the flower names. But, I do however, have an eye for beautiful things, sort of. And nature, I swear to god, nature’s probably the most amazing thing that was gifted to all human beings from planet earth.

Honestly, I wish there were more people in the world who could appreciate how wonderful our earth and nature is; how greatly it affects all of us. We should all just learn how to love mother nature a little more and stop torturing her. Afterall, what goes around comes around.

Oh yes, I’ve never really written about this before. But I would honestly appreciate it if you’d leave a comment after reading my posts. I feel so much happier when I do see that someone has left me a comment on my blog. So, if anybody would be kind enough to do so, thank you. Now I shall go back to watching Benedict Cumberbatch and fangirling over his mysterious cheekbones. ๐Ÿ˜›

boom.

2 thoughts on “TOTW: Gardens by the Bay.

Leave a Reply

