TOTW: Universal Studios!

TOTW is a revised segment where I share about small little parts of my life and my dear thoughts that comes with these little things. This is simply to share a piece of my mind to the Internet, to see if anyone out there has the same thinking as I do, so please also understand that these are just thoughts and small segments of a life of a teenager. Thank you for understanding & reading. πŸ™‚

I had a hard time thinking if this should be classified as a TOTW post, or a Weekend Special post. But, I thought, since the things that I’d be writing about happened on Friday, I guess it should be placed into the TOTW category.

Just a small little warning though, this post that you’re about to read is going to mention details about rides and stuff that are available in Universal Studios Singapore (USS), so if you aren’t keen on getting the rides that you’ve never sat on spoiled, I would suggest for you not to continue reading from this point on.

Alright then, let’s get this going.

If you’ve been following, you probably would’ve already known that I went to USS yesterday with the best dude, Fiona. As much as I was excited about going to USS, I didn’t really know what to expect from it. I’ve tried asking my friends and all, but none of them could give me a clear sense on what I’d be walking into. So, I guess, I’ll just have to go with my gut feelings that comes along with amusement parks.Β If you could call USS that.

The two of us were crazy enough to meet an hour before the park opens, just to make sure that we’d really be able to enjoy the entire day in the park. As crazy as it may seem, it’s probably the best decision that we’ve made, which I figured as well. It’s only because we were the first few people to enter the park that we were able to ride all the best rides – at lease once.Β At lease there’s no regret there, really.

What we didn’t really get when the gates first open was why everyone else was running to the Sci-Fi City towards the Transformers ride. Hahaha, being as tired and lazy as I was, I wasn’t really keen on running, but I did bother to brisk walk towards that ride though. Oh yes, just a word of advice: go for the best rides the moment you get into the park, especially if you’re going in right when the park opens.

Ultimately, because we were really, really early, we didn’t even needed to queue to get on the Transformers Ride. Like I said, I didn’t really know what to expect, probably because we walked through the queue line like nobody’s business and didn’t get to find out what exactly the transformers are up, sort of. And we basically just jumped into this cart (for the lack of words), and I didn’t even realise that it was like another transformer car until later into the ride. The ride itself was really impressively cool though! I mean, it was nothing scary to me, because frankly, it isn’t even a roller coaster. It was, however, what I would call a 4D experience. I don’t understand why they called it a 3D ride though, because really, with the way our cart was moving as if it was really right there in the scene, I am really classifying this into 4D. Oh yes, I said that it was nothing scary to me, which was true, because throughout the entire ride, I was giving my own commentary. Yeah, I was being an ass to the ride. πŸ˜› Okay, it was nothing serious, and I wasn’t really being an ass to the ride. I was being an ass to the ‘car’. I would write what I was shouting the entire time, but I can’t really remember anyway, I know I was just shouting about how stupid the ‘car’ was. And I think I was annoying the heck out of the guy that sat in front of me. πŸ˜›Β Oh yes, the other reason why I said that it wasn’t scary to me, because the entire time, Fiona was screaming. Yes. At a ride that isn’t even a roller coaster.Β I’m not laughing, neither am I joking.

After that awesome ride, we went on to the next ride in the next ‘city’. This one is called Revenge of the Mummy, and it’s my favourite ride out of all the rides that I took yesterday. This was the ride where we had to put our bags in the locker because it’s a roller coaster. Like it is a roller coaster, for real, well, except it’s an indoor roller coaster. Now, having the experience of sitting an indoor roller coaster in Disneyland that I didn’t know was nothing compared to this ride, I wasn’t expecting anything unexpectedly thrilling. Man, I was so wrong. The ride started out relatively slow, through some scary as fuck Mummy ‘sculptures’ threatening us that he’d take our soul and shit, and banging into a wall where beetles came running out, which was really scary by the way. That’s where the fun really began from the ride. Because the beetles were running out, the ‘cart’ pulled out from that corner and as I was expecting it to turn or something, suddenly it just drops backwards. Like, fuck, I totally wasn’t expecting that.

Honestly, I actually don’t even remember much after that drop. All I remembered was the lights dying out, and suddenly it’s just some fucking high speed shit. Like, fuck, I REALLY WASN’T PREPARED FOR THIS SHIT. I can still remember, how I was desperately holding the bar and trying to keep my head down so that my head wouldn’t fucking fly out. Well, at lease, it felt like my head was literally going to fall out. That was probably not such a good decision on my part, considering how I walked out of that ride having a dizzy spells, a bloody neck ache and the fact that I couldn’t walk straight. On the bright side though, how it affected me was much better than how it affected Fiona. She was screaming the entire time, and even after getting out of the ride, while we were going back, she could still feel the roller coaster moving. That being said though, this ride made me feel alive, like, really alive. In the words of Sherlock, “I am on fire!”

After that ride, we went on to the take the Canopy Flyer, which isn’t scary, but it still didn’t stop me from shouting. LOL. I don’t even know why I did. I mean, it isn’t really that scary.

The only thing I regretted not doing yesterday was going straight for the Rapids Adventure right after the Canopy Flyer, because subsequently, there was a freaking long ass queue for the Rapids Adventure. So, that was the only ride that I really wanted to go but didn’t have the chance to. Yup. 😦

After walking into Far Far Away and subsequently deciding to go for the Enchanted Airways. Okay, frankly speaking, this was the only outdoor roller coaster that was open. It was fun, but it definitely was nothing compared to the Mummy. I mean, really, it’s supposed to be a junior roller coaster! So, nothing particularly scary there, but it was definitely fun. πŸ˜€

Now, here’s the thing. By that time, we were done with four rides, and it hasn’t even been an hour. Yes, we finished four of the more popular rides in the first hour that we entered the park. I swear, if that wasn’t awesome, I don’t know what else is.

After having lunch, there wasn’t really any exciting rides anymore. Because all of these four rides that we took in the morning, after we went walked another round through the park again, there were all filled with people and freaking long ass queues. The Transformer ride had a waiting time of 120 minutes, Rapids Adventure as well! Like, fuuuuuck. It’s a pity, because I would really have loved to go on the Transformer ride again! It really had gotten my adrenaline pumping. Speaking of pity, it was also a pity that the best ride of the park, Battlestar Galactica, isn’t open. I mean, it would have definitely been freaking ass exhilarating! But then again, I probably would’ve been scared out of my ass.

Well, anyway, after sitting on a lame ass King Julian carousel ride, we went back into “Hollywood” and “New York”, which is only like a street away. -_- I think we spent like an hour walking around the souvenir shops in Hollywood, and not buying anything in the end. By that time, we were totally drained. Plus, we went to Monster Rock in Hollywood. It was definitely one of the best things of yesterday! It’s basically a musical starring classic monsters – Phantom, Dracula, Bride, She-Wolf, Wolf-man, Frankenstein as well as the Mummy. Yup, we thoroughly had fun there, we had so much fun that we actually went back again for the next show! Yup, we’re mad.Β After that, we went into the this attraction called Lights, Camera, Action ‘hosted by Steven Spielberg’, which showed some really, really cool effects that movies use. I swear to god, it was almost the coolest thing ever! The attraction, however, was too short. 😦

We had originally planned to go for the Elmo’s ride, some space chase thingy. In the end, we decided against it because the queue was just too freaking ass long, I swear to god. Oh, speaking of which. I’m still pretty gutted that I had missed the chance to take photos with the minions of Despicable Me, Elmo, Cookie Monster, Oscar the Grouch. Like, fuuuuu, I was waiting for the chance to take fucking photos with them but every time when I see them, they’re going the fuck back. LIKE WTF. WHYYYYYY.

Oh well.

We then went back to Far Far Away and caught the Shrek show, which was… uh… not as good as I expected it to be. By the time we were done with that, together with the second showing of Monster Rock, it was six already. But we did manage to go for the Crate Adventure in Madagascar. It was a really slow, but nice ride, I guess. A good way to end the day, if you’re thinking of just relaxing at the end. But honestly, I was really hoping that we could have the chance to go on the Transformers Ride again. Unfortunately though, even at that hour, there was still an hour queue. 😦

In the end, as we walked back to ‘Hollywood’, we stopped at ‘New York’ and watched this group of singers/dancers, singing some really old school songs. Yup, that had definitely made up my night and frankly, I didn’t even feel like leaving even though it was much later than Fiona and I had originally agreed on leaving. Right now, I actually do slightly regret not buying that cute Cookie Monster key chain. But to be fair to myself, it is freaking ten bucks. Yeah, the entire time I was looking at it, I felt so conflicted on whether or not I should buy it. And when I voiced it out, I’m like, “why the hell am I so conflicted on whether or not to buy a freaking key chain?” and as soon as I finished my sentence, my mind just provided the answer. “Because it’s freaking ten bucks!” Yup, my brain’s like that.

After a long ass day at USS, we reluctantly left. 😦 Well, at lease, I know that I reluctantly left.

And I still cannot believe that even though we were so bloody tired, we walked back from Sentosa to Vivocity, which is the nearest shopping mall on the main island of Singapore. But, the walk was really nice because of the sea breeze. Well, I’ve always liked walking at night anyway. Hahaha.

We were done with dinner so much later than we had originally thought we would. And I went home an hour later than I thought I would. But y’know what? It was so worth it. And, if I could, I would’ve been home even later. But I unfortunately couldn’t. So. It was still pretty satisfying.

As much as USS was not all that huge, we did have a really good time. πŸ˜€

And honestly, what better way to end the last Friday of the year than ending it in USS? πŸ™‚ Heh, yesterday was a great day, possibly the greatest out of the entire year.

This had ended up being such a long post, and I do apologise if I had managed to bore you out. Well, I’m done now. So.

Hope you have a great last Saturday of the year!

Boom.

Leave a Reply

