TOTW: Batam, Indonesia.

TOTW is a revised segment where I share about small little parts of my life and my dear thoughts that comes with these little things. This is simply to share a piece of my mind to the Internet, to see if anyone out there has the same thinking as I do, so please also understand that these are just thoughts and small segments of a life of a teenager. Thank you for understanding & reading. 🙂

Hello again!

I thought, since I didn’t talk much about my week, other than wishing everyone to have a great year ahead, I’d write about my weekend trip to a nearby island, Batam.

To be honest, it’s been a really, really long time since I went there. It might actually even be 6 years ago, I don’t know, I cannot even remember. Yeah, that definitely comes to show how long it has really been since I went there.

Anyway, this post isn’t going to be long because I don’t really have much to talk about it and I can’t open my eyes any bigger than it is right now – which isn’t big. The only place that I really liked ‘shopping’ in, is obviously, the supermarket. Lol, I don’t even understand myself sometimes. To be fair to myself, my parents liked the supermarket more than the malls too. Unfortunately for us, their clothes aren’t really suited for us, I guess. Well, at lease, for me, it isn’t suited. We did ended up buying a lot of toiletries back though. I swear to god, it was scary with the way we just threw the toothpaste into the trolley. Hahahahaha.

The ferry ride was……. not nice. Okay, I guess it wasn’t that bad, but since I kinda have sea sick… That’s a different thing altogether, I guess. It’s only about an hour ride from this little red dot to Batam, and I guess, when I do close my eyes and drift into half slumber, it isn’t all that bad. Which is good, for my head. I don’t even understand my motion sickness. Maybe it isn’t even motion sickness. o.o

It was really warm there as compared to this small little dot though. I personally think that it’s because of the location of the island and it’s just naturally much more humid there than in SG. Either way, my parents didn’t have a good time with the air conditioner in our hotel room. It’s not me to blame that I ended up with the ‘most cooling spot’ of the room. Who would’ve known that the air conditioner couldn’t be felt past my side of the beds? I didn’t even choose where to sleep, I just coincidentally ended up with the cool spot. So… While both my parents were grumbling about how warm the hotel room was, I’m just sitting there, being like, “how is it warm….? it’s just nice?” Yep.

Well… Having a weekend there, and watching the streets as the taxi passes the city, I felt like I was brought back into an older time, where things aren’t so developed yet. Of course, this is coming from a person who is born and grew up in a metropolitan city. I have to say, I actually do enjoy going to places that are slightly more backward than my own country. I’ve always admired the way they’re all so content with their simple lives, and yet people here are almost always complaining about our lives, even though our lives are already so much more ‘developed’, in a sense. I don’t know if any of these are making much sense anymore. 

Either way, I had a pretty pleasant time in Batam this weekend, and I’m definitely not looking forward to going back to work tomorrow, especially with my eyes pretty much swollen like that. I don’t know what’s going on with it, so I can’t answer to the reason why my eyes are swollen. Either way, I hope my eyes get better so that I can work faster tomorrow.

Off to go kill some time before Sherlock.

boom.

Leave a Reply

