Changes.

Hello everyone!

Yeah, well, I know I missed last week’s RSN. Actually, I’m not even sure how many week’s RSN I’ve missed. Oh pardon me, sometimes I just get really hooked into a particular show and when I’m half way into the season, there’s almost no way at all I can blog about something without dedicating the entire post to it. What I meant, if you don’t get it, is that if I were to write a RSN post last Sunday night, I would’ve ended up writing all about Torchwood, I think. I don’t even remember whether I was watching Torchwood last Sunday. But I think so? I believe I was watching Miracle Day.

I actually wonder if there’s actually any word or term to describe what I’ve been. I’m not a couch potato because I don’t stay on the couch for the entire day and sit there watching stuff. Instead I’m in bed all day watching dramas. Hmm, if you do know any ‘actual’ term for this sort of syndrome, just leave me a comment. Hahah!

Oh wait, before I continue on with what I actually wanted to say, I would like to give a shout out to Miaoqi! Thanks for commenting on my previous post! 😀

 

Well now, moving on to what I had actually wanted to say. I don’t even know why I titled this post as Changes. x.x I actually just wanted to write that…

When I first went onto WordPress to write my last blog post about Silence (which I still don’t know if anyone actually got the reference because y’all didn’t freaking leave a comment!) and I clicked on the ‘new post’ thingy, this ‘new post’ page appeared on my laptop screen.

For a second, I forgot that I was in the library (the quietest library I’ve ever been in) and gasped. I mean, it was so audible that John (if you do remember) was like “what happen?”

Thinking back, the other people sharing the same table as us must’ve heard me gasp. I mean, I don’t even know why I did. I just saw a completely new posting interface and I gasped. I suppose it’s because it looked so different, but maybe at the same time, it’s because I really wasn’t expecting it. I mean, I really didn’t expect a new interface to appear at all. But either way, it did and I gasped and yeah, life moves on.

Though, this got me thinking about the different types of change that exists. Like the whole new interface change that I just mentioned, that was sudden. At lease to me, it was, since I haven’t blogged for two weeks then. But there’s also a sort of change which we don’t really realise. And that’s the gradual change. If it’s something that changes everyday, you’re most likely not be able to feel any difference until one day, you step back and look at the bigger picture and, daaaamn, it has changed sooo much.

I have no idea if any of that made any sense at all, I hope it does though.

That’s two type of different changes. And then there’s the last one. Well, at lease, the last one that I could think of, which is the change that you consciously decide on.

I’m sure a lot of our lives are pretty routine. We get up, go to work/school, have meetings/classes, lunch, back to meetings/classes and knock off to head home. And even after going home, there’s a certain set of routine that you do, like going to shower, having dinner, watching the telly, getting homework done. These are all routine stuff, everyday actions that you do. But there are days where you wake up and out of the blue, you crack the idea of going to a restaurant for dinner instead of going home. And these are what I meant by conscious decision to change things, get yourself out of the routine that you so comfortably fall into.

 

I’m a person who, at the same time, likes and dislikes routines. Routines are great, they get your day going and you know exactly what you have to do next after completing one task. Routines are (by the way) fantastic when you’re flipping lazy, like me, and have a routine which involves staying in bed all day and merely worrying about what episode of a drama to (re)watch.

But at the same time, I get really annoyed at routines. They make my day very, very monotonous and dull. A lot of times, during a streak of routine days, I lose tracks of the things that I do because I lose all attention on what I’m doing. Because day in, day out, I do the same thing. My mom was telling me that the reason why I cannot remember a lot of things is because I don’t pay attention to what I’m doing. Which… I have to say, it’s kinda true. A lot of times, I’m doing the thing that I’m doing just for the sake of it. And now that I think about it, I lose especially more attention when dealing with something routine.

I don’t know if it’s the same for everyone but, just.. y’know, sharing. I don’t even know if it’s true, actually. It’s just my stab in the dark as to why I’m always forgetting things. This post is so ill-titled. Oh well.

 

‘Til next time!

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

