Talk is Cheap.

Disclaimer: I’m not writing about anyone in specific. I’m just talking about people in general, because heck, we all do it. We just do it in different frequencies.

Hello there!

One of the things that I’ve come to realised over the years that I’ve been schooling is that… Talk is cheap, even as cliche as it soundsBet you’re wondering why I said that.

Over the years, I know that there has been a lot of talk about everyone. I mean, I’m not perfect, I talk about people too. But now, it’s what kind of talk are you talking about. I’ve written this before, I believe, about how people are always complaining about something or another in their lives. It doesn’t matter whether it’s a big thing or a small thing, people are constantly complaining. Or at lease, the people that I’ve noticed are.

There and then, I thought back and realized that every time I meet up with friends, it will always end up with one of us complaining about life. And the most common complaints? It’s about people.

I’ve met up with F a couple of times after school started for us. Every time we meet up, we will start out with talking about how school are, because we’re in two different kinds of school, so we’ll share about that. But it will always end up with us talking about the people, talking about how different, and weird, and not as pleasant as others are.

It is such a natural topic that you don’t really realize that you’ve talking about nothing but the people in your lives.

But my real question is… Why is that so?

Why are we constantly talking about people’s behavior that we cannot change? Why are we constantly talking about how dislike-able these people are?

Sure, you could pass it off as “I’m just warning you, just so that you won’t get too near and possibly get burnt” but… Is that really your intention? Because for sure, the people that F and I meet might never actually bump into each other for at lease another 5 years. And 5 years is a very long time and more than enough time for a person to change.

And yes, of course, you could say that some people’s personalities may never change and it’s just hidden. But, what are the odds?

In a way, I feel like by talking about people complaining about people to others, most of the time, we’re just being selfish. Especially when you’re putting it across as “just a warning”. In a very loose way, we’re actually denying someone to get to know someone else just by giving out that ‘casual warning’ not to get too close with someone. And by doing that, we’re also indirectly depriving complained person from making new friends.

Through the course of our simple ‘casual warning’, we’re depriving people of the learning opportunity and the life opportunity of meeting someone who may end up becoming a supporting character of someone’s else’s life’s story.

I actually don’t know what I’m trying to say. I guess, it’s just, don’t spread things about other people? Even if you’re just trying to give a ‘casual warning’? I mean, you could just share your experience, but keep it open ended. Just because you can’t get along with someone doesn’t mean that your friend can’t. I don’t know man, I’m just… sick of people spreading things around.

Alright, I’m just gonna end off here.

boom.

Leave a Reply

