New Year’s Resolutions.

I don’t know if it’s actually a little too late to talk about it. I don’t really think so though, especially since New Year’s day was yesterday. Happy new year to everybody, by the way!

I haven’t been active on Twitter lately because I’ve been too lazy to open it and scroll through my timelines, but I am still seeing quite a lot of tweets about their new year’s resolution… Frankly, I don’t really see the point in them?

I don’t know how many people worldwide who made new year’s resolution actually keep to fulfilling them, but last year, my resolution (I believe) was to exercise more, lose weight and save more money. Sure, when comparing last year to the year before, I did exercise more, considering I did more yoga and pilates and went to the reservoir more. But heck, I didn’t lose any bit of weight at all. I still ate as much as I did, maybe even more. And…. I wouldn’t really say that I’ve saved more money, considering since it’s been kinda on and off. Some months I spend less, some months I spend more. It kinda levels out.

To the people out there who has managed to fulfill your resolutions and achieved something, I sincerely congratulate you. To the people who were like me and didn’t get a single bit of resolution fulfilled, fret not. It’s… kinda useless. I mean, new year’s resolutions is just goals masked in a different name. And if you’re changing your goals every year, then what sense would that make?

Quite honestly, as I thought about this, I wonder why is everyone so inclined to make new year’s resolution. Is it because of the new year? But, just think about it, the new year really doesn’t make any difference. Life still continues on as it is! Okay sure, to most students, the new year signifies a new academic year. But are there really much changes? You’re still a student at your current school, unless you’ve just graduated and have yet to moved on to your next school.

These resolutions are really just a conversational starter. It is essentially true, I suppose. And quite frankly, do you really need to wait until the start of a new year to make a change? No matter what time of the year it is, you have the choice to change your life in whatever way you want.

I just realised how much of a rant this has become. But yeah, I hope you get my point. 😛

I really have to remind myself never listen to the Doctor Who soundtrack while doing anything that requires writing. I always end up getting distracted. 😛 And now I’m on the verge of crying, gah!

boom.

Leave a Reply

