Right.

Are you more worried about doing the right things, or doing things right?

At my own TM club yesterday evening for the Table Topics contest, this question was posed. And I find myself thinking about it, wondering what I would say with such a question.

After a while, I came to a conclusion that I would worry about both.

First of all, I would worry about doing things right because doing the right things should already be ingrained into my minds. For example, it is already ingrained in our minds that we shouldn’t steal, murder, harm others, etc. But there are things where you could be doing the right thing, but you’re not doing it right. Say for example, you’re following orders given by your boss, which is the right thing to be doing. But if you’re not doing it right, then your boss would probably scold you.

So… Usually, I’m more worried about doing things right.

But of course, there’s always a flip side. There are things that can be easily done right and yet still not be morally right. And in those moments, I would most definitely worry about doing the right things.

Leave a Reply

