Control. 

When this week started, I started making it a point to observe the peers around me. I don’t know what triggered it, but I thought it was rather appropriate to start observing people – just as I started losing my touch in observing people.

As this week progressed, I’ve slowly come to realise one thing among my peers. I wouldn’t really call it as a bad thing, but it’s something that seemed to be dominating most people. 

In this day and age, you would think that any random person on the street reasons with his logic and not his emotions. But nowadays, as I walked across campus, listening into others’ conversations that I could hear without straining my ears, the general feeling that I got was that people are reasoning things with their emotions. Or at least a fraction of people. 

I can’t entirely say that I’m writing this post from balancing between the fences because even during this weekend, I felt like my reasoning had been based on my emotions, my feelings. 

It was only then that I thought about it that I realised that emotions have become my almost predominant reasoning tool for quite some time now. And it’s starting to scare me out.

Growing up, my parents had always thought me to be logical and think through everything before I start plunging myself into problems. As far as I remember, I have never really practised that. It’s really not something to be proud of because now I face the problem of being too judge-y before I actually face a person or a problem. It’s not something that anyone should have.
This week, I’ve come to realise that so many of us have been consumed by our own emotions, letting our feelings take control and losing our logic almost entirely. 

I don’t know what it’s like for you but I’m beginning to feel like it has started taking a toll on me. 

I think I really need to stop letting my emotions get the better of me and instead embrace my logic. 

Another dose of the messy thoughts in my head.

Leave a Reply

